After the home league loss last Friday at the hands of Eastbourne the Devils will be looking to repeat their National Trophy form where they convincingly defeated the Warriors.

They make a positional change swapping skipper Richard Andrews to No. 2 and Callum Walker to 4 meaning two new partnerships being created with Andrews combining with top man Steve Boxall whilst Walker will link with Lee Smart.

The Warriors will be at full strength with heat leader Nathan Greaves available after missing the previous clash due to riding in the SGB Premiership for his senior club Wolverhampton at Belle Vue. Returning from injury will be former Devon Demon Tyler Govier, who suffered in the first race at the meeting two weeks before and reserve Rik Mullins , who suffered a shoulder injury in the second race on the opening night of the season.

The Devils will be looking to regain some consistency and find their gating gloves after Eastbourne dominated the proceedings last week in what was a good night of racing but with the wrong result for the home team.

The sides clash on the Island on Thursday night (7pm start) before returning across the Solent to the mainland and heading for the St Boniface Arena for Friday night’s clash (7.15 start). Both sides remain unchanged for both encounters with the overall winners making it through to the next round where they face Birmingham.

Team manager Laurence Rogers explains the positional switch in the Devils ranks, “ We looked at the past few meetings and in particular Friday and discussed the team line up in great deal over the weekend.  We thought a switch might be of benefit to all parties and will monitor over these two meetings how the new partnerships gel and work together.”

“We can then decide if this is the best way for us to line up. Until we try it who knows ? We would rather do this in a cup match before the league clashes start again as we have some tough meetings coming up and want the best format of the side for these.”


Plymouth Devils …. 1. Steve Boxall.  2. Richard Andrews . 3. Lee Smart. 4. Callum Walker. 5. Benji Compton. 6. Rob Parker. 7. Henry Atkins.

Isle of Wight Warriors …..1. Ben Wilson.  2. Tyler Govier. 3. James Cockle.  4. Chris Widman. 5. Nathan Greaves. 6. Jamie Sealey.  7. Rik Mullins