2017 Speedway Season Gets Underway On Good Friday

2017 Speedway Season Gets Underway On Good Friday The Plymouth Devils roar back into speedway action with their opening meeting at the St Boniface Arena on Good Friday (April 14th) with the visit of the Isle of Wight Warriors in a National trophy clash .

Gates open at 5.45pm with the parade of riders at 7pm and the first race at 7.15pm as the new look Devils aim to start the new ear of speedway at the Arena with success on the track.

Having announced their final rider last week and had a highly successful press and practice day last Saturday the Devils will be ready to start their season in style . Back as the side’s No. 1 is the highly popular Steve Boxall , who had a good season in the side’s Premier League team in 2016. He is joined by two former Devils in Lee Smart and Richard Andrews who will captain the Devils in 2017. Experienced campaigner Benji Compton becomes the first rider at this level to be flown to his meetings with his bikes looked after locally and a Friday afternoon flight from Leeds-Bradford to Newquay !

Completing the side are former  Coventry youngster Callum Walker, Rob Parker and the ‘baby’ of the side 16 year old Henry Atkins.

The opposition are led by former Sheffield and Stoke rider Ben Wilson and he is backed up by club skipper James Cockle. They are without Nathan Greaves , who is riding for Wolverhampton , and they bring in Belle Vue and Workington rider Rob Shuttleworth as a guest rider.

In the second string department they have Devonian Tyler Govier and the experienced Chris Widman. At reserve they have two riders returning to the sport in Londoner Rik Mullins and Jamie Sealey , who last rode 9 years ago but is making a speedway comeback this year after racing moto-cross.

Admission prices have been cut by the new Plymouth promotion with adults £10, children 10-16 £5 with under 10’s free plus there is a family ticket at £25 admitting 2 adults and 2 children. There is a 32 page meeting programme on sale at £2.50. For newcomers the track is found at the St Boniface Arena, Coypool Road, PL7 4NW with car parking at the park and ride . There are catering and bar facilities at the Arena.


Plymouth Devils :  1. Steve Boxall ; 2. Callum Walker; 3. Lee Smart; 4. Richard Andrews; 5. Benji Compton; 6. Rob Parker. 7. Henry Atkins

Isle of Wight Warriors :  1. Ben Wilson; 2. Tyler Govier; 3. James Cockle; 4. Chris Widman; 5.Rob Shuttleworth; 6. Jamie Sealey;  7. Rik Mullins